Dead Tree

When I was the weird, hyperactive 9 year old child back in the day, there was a tree at school that me and my friends decided to name: Dead Tree. It was a dead tree.

Childhood is that time in life where nothing really matters. All you want is to just, go outside and play, probably break an arm, climb a tree and basically whatever you feel like doing, ya’ know? Well, when I was a child, in my Elementary school from 4th to 5th grade, all the way at the end of the baseball field, standing alone was a tree. It was a tree that one time in it’s life had leafs but now it had nothing but a bunch of old branches. Yup, the tree was dead.

Hence, me and my friends decided to make it our hangout spot during recess because it was away from all the evil teachers that would yell at us to not jump off the slide. We decided to name the tree and what better name for a dead tree than Dead Tree?

Image result for dead tree
**Not actually Dead Tree, this is just a random tree off Google.

Pfft, yeah, I know! Creativity to the MAX LEVEL. 

William Shakespeare who? Yo, we talking real creativity here with my tree buddy Dead Tree.

Anyways, we did so much with Dead Tree. We climbed it, we would race to it, and once we even planted skittles under it, hoping that a skittles tree would grow.

Now, what’s the point of this story?

That when you’re a child, even a dead tree at your school is your bests friend. I saw that the daily prompt today is ‘Soil’, it reminded me of the time that we tried to revive Dead Tree, even though to us, he was still alive.

And yes, the tree was a boy.

What’s sad is how we grow up, and we forget about these little things in life. Of course, there is always somebody who will forever remember them.

And in that case, it would be me.

One of my most favorite books is the book Ida B: and Her Plans to Maximize Fun, Avoid Disaster, and (Possibly) Save the World by Katherine Hannigan. It’s a children’s novel about a girl named Ida B. who is homeschooled and her only friends are her apple trees. What’s awesome bout it is that she talks to the trees and the trees “talk” to her. Image result for ida b bookSadly, her mother falls sick in Cancer and her father needs to sell some of their land to get money for her mother. Part of the land that he sells is part of her apple trees which, they are all destroyed and taken down for the new owners to build their home there. Ida B. falls into depression and changes her personality quite drastically because everything she loved was being destroyed, from her mother, to her family, to her only friends.

This book, is a wonderful book to me because it is the first book that I read in my childhood that actually left memories of it in me. I love to read, and as a kid I would always read a bunch of those typical children’s books like Captain Underpants, The Berenstein Bears (I refuse to accept the Mandela Effect), The Magic school bus and all that other stuff. Yeah, I do have memories of those as well same with all the plant books and history books I would always read because I had a thing for plants and history (still do) but, Ida B and Her Plans to Maximize Fun, Avoid Disaster and Possibly Save the World is the first ever book that actually gave me feelings and emotions for as a child.

And I related more to that book because of my friend, Dead Tree.

Dead Tree lives in Las Vegas, Nevada in the United States of America. I hope that he is still standing in his place. One day I shall go visit him and hopefully, I’ll see him with leafs like I always wanted to.

And if he’s still dead then whatever, Dead Tree is still the most awesome tree in the world.

Thank you for reading.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/soil/ click on these blue letters to be taken to the daily prompt and check other peoples posts.

…….Maybe they have a tree friend named Alive Tree?

6 thoughts on “Dead Tree

  1. Aw the tree will remember you for not abandoning it when it’s “Sick” 🙂
    Who knows, maybe skittles would really grow lol.
    It’s amazing how books can contain worlds in them that share stories, even life experiences and lessons (Fiction and non-fiction alike) which not many can do for us in real life, eh?

    Gotta love them story tellers for being able to pen down such work of art. Speaking of which, the art of the book is a very nicely taken shot and fits the book too. Really nice.

    Talking about books from childhood, I remember reading this book called “The cold people” where it’s about some sort of other worldy thing that suddenly starts freezing and converting people into “Cold People”, whom then in turn, start terrorizing the small town.

    It’s sort of like a zombie outbreak but with the zombies being really cold people who are invulnerable to everything except for fire. Best part of the story? It’s set in winter and if I recall it right, there was a blizzard storm hahaha, talk about unfortunate. Did I mention that they get enhanced speed and strength once converted as well? XD

    Ahh such wonderful memories from childhood 🙂

    Your pal,
    Benjamin
    http://www.projectbiy.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw, dead tree and skittles tree would be great buds!
      Yes, that is very true. Don’t forget the benefits of reading such as creativity, increased reading skills, and it can make you open minded which isn’t a bad thing along with other benefits.

      I love seeing that lonely apple on the cover of the book! And that sounds like a very interesting book xD not to mention the unluckiness of having to deal with super speed zombies and blizzards xD

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

